top of page
Scientific Committee

Tiziano Cattaneo

Founder of the Rural Architectural Intensification project, Associate Professor at Università degli Studi di Pavia and Professor at Tongji University


Paolo Ceccarelli

Professor, UNESCO Chair in “Urban and Regional Planning for Local Sustainable Development” and Coordinator of the Mediterranean UNESCO Chairs Network (MUNCH).


Fausto Pugnaloni

Professor, President of “C.H.I.Asso” - Association of International Cooperation in Cultural Heritage and Identity for Promotion of training and research initiatives


Shiling Zheng

Professor, Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Director of Academic Committee, Tongji University

Tunney Lee

Professor, Emeritus, Department of Urban Studies and Planning, MIT

We are very sad to comunicate that Tunney Lee, professor emeritus of urban planning and former head of the MIT Department of Urban Studies and Planning (DUSP), passed away on July 2, 2020 in Boston. We will miss him.

Contact Form

Your details were sent successfully!

rural architectural intensification

research team coordinators:


Tiziano Cattaneo (Scientific Coordinator)

PI and Founder - University of Pavia


Roberto De Lotto

Coordinator for Urban Planning - University of Pavia


Lou Yongqi and Aldo Cibic

Coordinators of the Design Harvest project - College of Design and Innovation, Tongji University, Shanghai


Emanuele Giorgi, Carlos Cobreros Rodriguez and Diego Rodriguez Lozano

Coordinator and partners of the Design for Vunerables project

Tecnológico de Monterrey (México) School of Architecture, Art and Design


Ding Jijun

Coordinator of the Center for China Beautiful Countryside Research

Art – Design Academy, Zhejiang Sci-Tech University, Hangzhou


Ali Cheshmehzangi and Eugenio Mangi

Coordinator of the Sustainable Built Environment Research Group, Faculty of Science and Engineering, University of Nottingham Ningbo China

Former research team members and visiting researchers:

Xiangning Li

Alessandra Sandolo 

Giorgio Davide Manzoni 

Ioanni Delsante

Nadia Bertolino

Aleksandra Krstikj

Wu Deng

Zhai Hui

Zeng Qiaoqiao

Franco Marchionni

Tan Liangbin

Jeffrey Johnson

Chen Yi

Liu Kan

Elisabetta Venco

Peter Ferretto

Stefan Bartke

Sara Cacciati

Giulia Montanaro

... ...


Department of Civil Engineering and Architecture 

Università degli Studi di Pavia 

Via Ferrata 3, 27100, Pavia, Italy

research branch

Tongji University

College of Architecture and Urban Planning

room 506, building C 1239 siping road, 200092, Shanghai, China



bottom of page